A Jump Meant for Two

We were supposed to jump together

We were ready for the adventure

I held your hand and closed my eyes

I counted from three and smiled.

 

But as I counted from three to one

I felt your hands slipping off from mine

As I slowly opened my eyes

I saw you jump and I was left behind.

 

I tried to follow you

But my legs can’t seem to work

I tried to call out your name

But you never looked my way.

 

As I saw you fell

And looked at you from afar

Then in a matter of time

I can no longer see you in my sight.

 

As tears fell from my face

As I shouted your name —- I realized

That jump was never for us to take

But for you to leave and for me to never follow

And that jump that were meant for two

Is now a jump That’s meant for one.

Leave a Reply

